Fidas® Fly 200

Combination of ultra-light real-time dust monitor and HORUS flight robot

Combination of ultra-light real-time dust monitor and HORUS flight robot

0.00

Fidas Fly 200_Lupe_V5.jpg

Fidas® Fly 200

Combination of ultra-light real-time dust monitor and HORUS flight robot

Description

The Fidas® Fly 200 is a combination of an ultra-light real-time dust monitor made by Palas® and a flight robot made by Airclip Service GmbH & Co KG.

With the Fidas® Fly 200 as measuring system has been created, which enables - based on the well-approved measuring technique of the Fidas® systems - the continuous and simultaneous measurement of the PM-fractions PM1, PM2.5, PM4, PM10, TSP or respirable, thoracic, and inhalable mass fractions as per DIN EN 481 as well as in addition the particle number concentration as well as the particle size distribution in 32 size classes per decade within the particle size range of 0.18 – 18 μm or 0.5 – 40 μm - and all this in an additional spatial dimension.

This is made possible by applying the flight robot HORUS of the company Airclip GmbH, Dresden, Germany as a carrier unit for the ultra-light fine dust monitoring system Fidas® Fly 100.

The flight robot is an octocopter, offers an exceptionally high operational safety due to redundant layout of the flight system and can be controlled manually by hand as well as automatically. By using GPS, defined way-points / routes can be patrolled in an automatic and reproducible way.

The flight time per battery charge is approx. 20 min, the exchange of battery is only about 2 min.

The Fidas® Fly 200 allows among others fine dust measurements at up to now inaccessible locations (e.g. in the area of transfer of emissions to the athmosphere), can be used for the assessment especially of line and area sources (e.g. open mining sites) and also deliver valuable parameters for R&D purposes (e.g. for prognosis models).

The Fidas® Fly 200 uses the recognized measurement technology of optical light scattering of single particles and is equipped with an LED light source with high intensity (dpmin = 180 nm), highly stable output and long lifetime. The calibration of the system can be checked and adjusted, if necessary, easily and quickly also under field conditions on site at any time with the help of a monodisperse test powder.

The Fidas® Fly 200 is equipped with a data logger with 4 GB Compact Flash storage. The firmware supports complete remote access with remote maintenance and optional data storage at www.palas.de/user.

The Fidas® Fly 200 is distributed by the company Airclip GmbH, Dresden, Germany ( Contact Airclip ).

All necessary training / education for the operation of the flight robot are carried there out, too. Furthermore it can be agreed there on flight campaigns as a service (e.g. for project-related campaigns).

Measuring principle

The actual aerosol sensor is an optical aerosol spectrometer that determines the particle size using Lorenz‐Mie scattered light analysis of single particles. The single particles move through an optically differentiated measurement volume that is homogeneously illuminated with white light. Each particle generates a scattered light impulse that is detected at an angle of 85° to 95° degrees. The particle number is measured based on the number of scattered light impulses. The level of the scattered light impulse is a measure of the particle size diameter.

The lower detection limit for immission measurement was able to be reduced to 180 nm through improved optics, higher light density using a new white LED as the light source, and improved signal analysis (logarithmic analog digital converter). This enables greatly improved detection, especially of smaller particles, which are mainly found at high concentrations near roadsides (see Fig. 1).

Fidas 200 höhere Empfindlichkeit 2.png Fig. 1: Higher sensitivity with the Fidas® fine dust measurement system for the 0.18 – 18 µm particle size range

The better the classification accuracy and the resolution capacity, the more accurate the definition of the particle size distribution.

Using a white light source enables a precise and unambiguous calibration curve to be obtained, resulting in an extremely high size resolution. The patented T-stop provides a precisely defined optical measurement volume and enables particle measurement without border-zone errors, resulting in a precise size measurement. The new digitized electronic signal analysis system enables the rapid identification and correction of coincidence, as necessary.

Algorithmen Vergleich Fidas 200.png Fig. 2: Comparison of the algorithms for conversion of the particle size distribution by PM values

In order to convert the measured values into a mass or mass fraction, the high-resolution particle size distribution in each value is multiplied by a correlation factor that reflects the different sources (e.g. combustion aerosols, tire wear, pollen) of the environmental aerosol (see Fig. 2). A mass fraction is obtained by additionally applying the separation curve (see DIN EN 481) to the determined particle size distribution. Multiple separation curves can be used simultaneously for the same size distribution, which enables the simultaneous output of PM10, PM2.5, PM1 (and others). For example the Fidas® Fly 200 can be operated with the same conversion algorithm, which has also been implemented in the type-approved and certified ambient air monitoring system Fidas® 200 for regulatory monitoring of ambient PM2.5 and PM10 concentrations.

The delivered software allows for manifold evaluations and presentations of the measured data.

HORUS mit Fidas Ultra-Light Sensor.jpg

Fig. 3: Flight of Fidas® Fly 200

Benefits

  • Measurement at up to now inaccessible locations possible
  • Continuous and simultaneous real-time measurement of multiple PM values in all three spatial dimensions
  • Additional information based on particle number concentration and particle size distribution
  • Light source: LED
  • Up to 20 minutes measuring time during flight operation per battery charge
  • Only 2 min per battery exchange
  • 8-propellers-platform
  • High operational safety due to redundant design of the flight robot
  • Live transfer of all relevant flight data and control data
  • Flight mode: manual control with stabilisation of position, automatic stabilisation of height, dynamic stabilisation of GPS position, automatic following of GPS routes, automatic taking off/landing
  • Fidas® data analyzer software for individual analysis of your measurement data on an external PC
  • 8-propellers-platform
  • PDAnalyze Fidas®  software for individual analysis of your measurement data on an external PC
  • Low maintenance
  • External check of calibration on site possible
  • Reliable function

Datasheet

Interfaces USB, Wi-Fi
Measurement range (size) 0.18 – 40 µm (2 measuring ranges)
Size channels 64 (32/decade)
Measuring principle Optical light-scattering
Measurement range (number CN) 0 – 20000 particles/cm^3
Time resolution 1 s – 24 h
Volume flow 1.4 l/min
Dimensions 10.5 • 37.5 • 17.5 cm (H • W • D, sensor only)
Weight Approx. 4 kg, tare weight: 1.9 kg
Data logger storage 4 GB
Measurement range (mass) 0 – 1500 μg/m^3
Reported data PM_1, PM_2.5, PM_4, PM_10, TSP, C_N, particle size distribution
flight time Approx. 20 min.
maximum useful load 4.5 kg (flight robot)

Applications

  • Particle measurements, especially at difficult to access locations, diffusive sources, line and area sources (roadsides, quarries, coal tips, lignite opencast mining, etc.)
  • Indoor air quality studies e.g. in factories
  • Exhaust gas characterisation e.g. for high chimneys
  • Ambient air/emission measurement
  • R&D projects e.g. for determination of emission factors or for delivering input to dispersion modelling

Fidas® Fly 200

Kombination aus superleichtem Echtzeit-Staubmonitor und HORUS Flugroboter

Kombination aus superleichtem Echtzeit-Staubmonitor und HORUS Flugroboter

0.00

Fidas Fly 200 freigestellt.png

Fidas® Fly 200

Kombination aus superleichtem Echtzeit-Staubmonitor und HORUS Flugroboter

Beschreibung

Das Fidas® Fly 200 ist eine Kombination aus superleichtem Echtzeit-Staubmonitor der Firma Palas® und einem Flugroboter der Firma Airclip Service GmbH & Co KG.

Mit dem Fidas® Fly 200 ist eine Messeinrichtung entstanden, die auf Basis der bewährten Messtechnik der Fidas® Systeme kontinuierlich und gleichzeitig die PM-Fraktionen PM1, PM2,5, PM4, PM10, TSP oder die alveolengängigen, thorakalen und einatembaren Massefraktionen nach DIN EN 481 sowie zusätzlich die Partikelanzahlkonzentration sowie die Partikelgrößenverteilung in 32 Größenklassen pro Dekade im Partikelgrößenbereich von 180 nm – 18 µm erfasst – und dies nun auch in einer weiteren räumlichen Dimension.

Ermöglicht wird dies durch den Einsatz des Flugroboters HORUS der Firma Airclip GmbH, Dresden als Trägereinheit für das ultra-leichte Feinstaubmesssystems Fidas® Fly 100.

Der Flugroboter ist als Oktokopter ausgeführt, verfügt über eine überaus hohe Betriebssicherheit durch redundante Ausführung des Flugsystems und kann von Hand wie auch automatisch gesteuert werden. Durch den Einsatz von GPS können vorbestimmte Wegpunkte / Routen automatisch und wiederholbar abgeflogen werden.

Die Flugzeit beträgt ca. 20 min pro Akkuladung, der Austausch des Akkus benötigt nur 2 min.

Das Fidas® Fly 200 ermöglicht u. a. Feinstaubmessungen an bislang unzugänglichen Orten (z. B. im Bereich des Übergangs von Emissionen in die Atmosphäre), kann eingesetzt werden zur Beurteilung insbesondere von Linien- und Flächenquellen (z. B. Tagebaue) und auch wertvolle Parameter zu Forschungszwecken liefern (z. B. für Prognosemodelle).

Das Fidas® Fly 200 verwendet die anerkannte Messtechnik der optischen Lichtstreuung am Einzelpartikel und ist mit einer LED-Lichtquelle mit hoher Lichtintensität (dpmin = 180 nm), hoher Lichtstabilität und langer Lebensdauer ausgestattet. Die Kalibrierung der Messeinrichtungen kann mit Hilfe eines monodispersen Prüfaerosols jederzeit einfach und schnell vor Ort überprüft und gegebenenfalls justiert werden.

Das Fidas® Fly 200 ist mit einem Datenlogger mit 4 GB Compact Flash Speicher ausgestattet. Die Firmware unterstützt einen kompletten Fernzugriff mit Fernwartung und optionaler Datenablage über www.palas.de/user.

Das Fidas® Fly 200 wird durch die Fa. Airclip GmbH, Dresden vertrieben ( Kontakt Airclip ).

Dort erfolgen auch alle notwendigen Einweisungen / Ausbildungen zum Betrieb des Flugroboters. Des Weiteren können dort auch Befliegungen als Dienstleitung (z. B. für projektbezogene Kampagnen) vereinbart werden.

Messprinzip

Beim eigentlichen Aerosolsensor handelt es sich um ein optisches Aerosolspektrometer, das über die Streulichtanalyse am Einzelpartikel nach Lorenz Mie die Partikelgröße bestimmt. Die Partikel bewegen sich einzeln durch ein optisch abgegrenztes Messvolumen, das mit Weißlicht homogen ausgeleuchtet ist. Von jedem einzelnen Partikel entsteht ein Streulichtimpuls, der unter einem Winkel von 85° bis 95° erfasst wird. Die Partikelanzahl wird anhand der Anzahl der Streulichtimpulse gemessen. Die Höhe des Streulichtimpulses ist ein Maß für den Partikeldurchmesser.

Durch eine verbesserte Optik, eine höhere Lichtdichte durch eine neue Weißlicht-LED als Lichtquelle und eine verbesserte Signalauswerteelektronik (logarithmischer A/D-Wandler) konnte die untere Detektionsgrenze für die Immissionsmessung bis auf 180 nm gesenkt werden. Dadurch werden insbesondere kleinere Partikel sehr viel besser berücksichtigt (siehe Abb. 1).

Fidas 200 höhere Empfindlichkeit 2.png

Abb. 1: Höhere Empfindlichkeit mit dem Fidas® Feinstaubmesssystem für den Partikelgrößenbereich 0,18 – 18 µm

Je besser die Klassifiziergenauigkeit und das Auflösungsvermögen eines Partikelmessgerätes sind, desto genauer kann die Partikelgrößenverteilung bestimmt werden.

Durch die Verwendung einer Weißlichtquelle erhält man eine eindeutige Kalibrierkurve ohne Mehrdeutigkeiten, woraus eine extrem hohe Größenauflösung resultiert. Die Verwendung der patentierten T-Blende führt zu einem exakt bestimmten optischen Messvolumen und ermöglicht die Partikelmessung ohne Randzonenfehler und damit eine genaue Größenbestimmung. Die neue und schnelle digitalisierte Signalauswerteelektronik erlaubt, Koinzidenz zu erkennen und gegebenenfalls zu korrigieren.

Algorithmen Vergleich Fidas 200.png

Abb. 2: Vergleich von Algorithmen zur Umrechnung der Partikelgrößenverteilung nach PM-Werten

Zur Umwandlung dieser gemessenen Messgrößen in eine Masse oder Massefraktion wird die hochaufgelöste Partikelgrößenverteilung in jedem Wert mit einem Korrelationsfaktor multipliziert, der widerspiegelt, dass das Umweltaerosol je nach Partikelgröße aus unterschiedlichen Quellen (z. B. Verbrennungsaerosol, Reifenabrieb, Pollen) zusammengesetzt ist (siehe Abb. 2). Eine Massefraktion erhält man, indem man zusätzlich noch die Abscheidekurve (siehe DIN EN 481) auf die ermittelte Partikelgrößenverteilung anwendet. Auf dieselbe Größenverteilung lassen sich gleichzeitig mehrere Abscheidekurven anwenden, so dass eine gleichzeitige Ausgabe von PM10, PM2,5, PM1 (und anderen) möglich ist. Zum Beispiel kann das Fidas® Fly 200 mit dem gleichen Umwandlungsalgorithmus betrieben werden, welcher auch in dem für die behördliche PM2,5- und PM10-Immissionsüberwachung zugelassenen und zertifizierten Immissionsmesssystem Fidas® 200 implementiert ist.

Die im Lieferumfang enthaltene Software erlaubt eine vielfältige Auswertung und Darstellung der gemessenen Daten.

HORUS mit Fidas Ultra-Light Sensor.jpg

Abb. 3: Flug des Fidas® Fly 200

Vorteile

  • Messung an bislang unzugänglichen Orten möglich
  • Kontinuierliche und simultane Echtzeit‐Messung mehrerer PM‐Werte in allen drei Raumdimensionen
  • Zusätzliche Information durch Partikelanzahlkonzentration und Partikelgrößenverteilung
  • Lichtquelle: LED
  • Bis zu 20 Minuten Messzeit im Flugbetrieb pro Akkuladung
  • Nur 2 min pro Akkuwechsel
  • 8-Propeller-Flugplattform
  • Hohe Betriebssicherheit durch redundante Auslegung des Flugroboters
  • Live-Übermittlung aller relevanten Flug- und Steuerungsdaten
  • Flugmodi: Handsteuerung mit Lagestabilisierung, automatisches Halten der Höhe, dynamisches Halten der GPS-Position, automatisches Abfliegen von GPS-Routen, automatisches Starten/Landen
  • Fidas® Data Analyser Software zur individuellen Auswertung Ihrer Messdaten am externen PC
  • Wartungsarm
  • Externe Überprüfung der Kalibrierung vor Ort möglich
  • Zuverlässige Funktion

Technische Daten

Schnittstellen USB, WLAN
Messbereich (Größe) 0,18 – 40 µm (2 Messbereiche)
Größenkanäle 64 (32/Dekade)
Messprinzip optische Lichtstreuung
Messbereich (Anzahl CN) 0 – 20000 Partikel/cm3
zeitliche Auflösung 1 s – 24 h
Volumenstrom 1,4 l/min
Abmessungen 10,5 • 37,5 • 17,5 cm (H • B • T, nur Sensor)
Gewicht ca. 4 kg, Leergewicht: 1,9 kg
Datenspeicher 4 GB
Messbereich (Masse) 0 – 1500 μg/m3
Messgrößen PM1,PM2,5,PM4,PM10,TSP, CN,Partikelgrößenverteilung
Flugzeit ca. 20 Min.
maximale Nutzlast 4,5 kg (Flugroboter)

Anwendungen

  • Partikelmessungen, insbesondere an schwer zugänglichen Orten, diffusen Quellen, Linien- und Flächenquellen (Straßenränder, Steinbrüche, Kohlehalden, Braunkohletagebau, etc.)
  • Studien zur Innenraumluftqualität z. B. in Fabrikhallen
  • Abluftcharakterisierung z. B. an hohen Kaminen
  • Immissions- / Emissionsmessung
  • F&E-Projekte, z. B. zur Emissionsfaktorbestimmung oder Input für Ausbreitungsmodellierung