U-RANGE 2000

Useful combination of the Fidas® and U-SMPS systems for particle measurements in the size range of 8 nm to 40 µm

Useful combination of the Fidas® and U-SMPS systems for particle measurements in the size range of 8 nm to 40 µm

0.00

Downloads

Brief Description
Brief product description in two-pages as PDF
Product Description
Detailed product description as PDF
U-RANGE 2000.JPG

U-RANGE 2000

Useful combination of the Fidas® and U-SMPS systems for particle measurements in the size range of 8 nm to 40 µm

Description

The Palas® U-RANGE combines two systems for the continuous measurement of airborne particles in the size range of 8 nm to 40 μm.

The U-SMPS is a standard system for extremely precise measurements of nanoparticle size distributions. Aerosol particles are selected in the classifier (DEMC) according to their electrical mobility and then counted by a condensation particle counter (UF‐CPC). Prof. Wiedensohler (IfT Leipzig, Germany) developed the algorithm used by Palas® for inversion of the measured data to yield the particle size distribution for the U-SMPS.

The Fidas® 200 is a fine dust measurement system for ambient air quality measurements for regulatory purposes. It uses the recognized measurement technology of optical light scattering of single particles and is equipped with an LED light source with stable output and long lifetime.

In addition to the measurement of the particle size distribution in the size range of 300 nm to 40 μm, it continuously and simultaneously determines the following PM‐fractions: PM1, PM2.5, PM4, PM10, and TSP (PMtot).

The Fidas® 200 is also equipped with a filter holder for the insertion of an absolute filter (47 or 50 mm in diameter). This enables a subsequent chemical analysis of the composition of the aerosol, for example.

The U-RANGE is operated using a graphical user interface on a touch screen. The voltage in the DEMC classifier is varied continuously, resulting in higher count statistics per size channel. In addition, it enables a size resolution of up to 64 size channels per decade. The integrated data logger allows linear and logarithmic display of the measured values on the device itself.

The enclosed evaluation software provides various data evaluation (extensive statistics and averaging) and export capabilities.

The U-RANGE is typically operated as a stand‐alone device, but can also be connected to a computer or network using various interfaces (USB, LAN, WLAN, RS-232/485). 

Accurate size determination and reliable performance are extremely important in applications involving the U-RANGE. All components are required to pass strict quality assurance testing and are assembled in‐house.

U-RANGE measurement results are a combination of the results from the U‐SMPS and the Fidas® and can be completely displayed and analyzed on the touch screen. Up to 8 measurements are able to be compared here (Figure 1).

Messdaten U-RANGE.jpg

Figure 1: Graphic display of the measurement data on the U-RANGE touch screen Blue: Indoor air concentration within a production facility prior to the start of work; red: Measurement at the same site following the start of work

Principle of operation of the U-SMPS (Figure 2):
The aerosol is conditioned (e.g. dried, neutralized) before it enters the size classifier (DEMC column). The aerosol is then directed into the DEMC column via the inlet. The aerosol flow along the outer electrode is carefully combined here with a sheath air flow. This sheath air is a dry, particle-free carrier gas (typically air) with a higher volume than the aerosol that is continuously circulated in a closed loop. The sheath air to sample air volume ratio defines the resolution capacity of the size classifier.
Funktionsprinzip des U-SMPS.JPG

Figure 2: Principle of operation of the U-SMPS

A radially symmetric electric field is generated between the inner and outer electrode by applying voltage. The inner electrode is positively charged with a small slit at the end. By balancing the electrical force on each particle with its aerodynamic drag force in the electrical field, negatively charged particles are diverted to the positive electrode.

In operation, the voltage and thus the electrical field change continuously. Particles with appropriate electrical mobility pass through the slit and are counted by a condensation particle counter (UF‐CPC).

Principle of operation of the Fidas® fine dust measurement system (Figure 3):

Funktionsprinzip Fidas Feinstaubmesssystem.jpg

Figure 3: Principle of operation of the Fidas®

User interface and software:
Based on continuous customer feedback, the user interface and software have been designed for intuitive operation and real-time control and display of measurement data and parameters. The system is equipped with an integrated data logger and supports network functions.

The enclosed PDAnalyze evaluation software provides sophisticated analytical and export capabilities. The measured data are able to be displayed and evaluated with many available options. These enable the data from the U-SMPS and Fidas® systems, for example, to be displayed and evaluated separately (Figure 4) or together.


Auswertesoftware PDAnalyze.jpg

Figure 4: PDAnalyze evaluation software Measurement of indoor air concentration and display of number concentration Blue: Data from the U-SMPS, red: Data from the Fidas®

Benefits

  • Particle size distributions from 8 to 40 nm
  • Additional determination of PM fractions (e.g. PM2.5, PM10)
  • Continuous and fast-scanning principle of measurement
  • High resolution in up to 64 size classes/decade
  • Graphic display of measurement values
  • Intuitive operation using 7" touchscreen and GUI
  • Integrated data logger
  • Supports multiple interfaces and remote access
  • Low maintenance
  • Reliable function
  • Reduces your operating expenses

Datasheet

Interfaces
USB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, RS-232/485
Size channels
up to 120 (32/decade)
Time resolution 3 min.
Volume flow 4.8 l/min
User interface
Touch screen, 800 • 480 pixel, 7"
Power supply

115/230 V, 50/60 Hz
Dimensions

19“ or 18.5 • 45 • 32 cm (H • W • D, Fidas®), 33 • 38 • 24 cm (H • W • D, UF-CPC), 15 • 57 cm (ø base • H, U-SMPS column), 33 • 38 • 24 cm (H • W • D, U-SMPS control unit)
Weight
Approx. 9.3 kg (Fidas®, U-SMPS column), approx. 12.9 kg (U-SMPS control unit), approx. 10 kg (U-SMPS UF-CPC)
Data logger storage

4 GB
Software PDAnalyze
Volume flow (sheath air)
2.5 – 10 l/min
Operation liquid

Butanol, isopropanol, water or other (UF-CPC)
Particle size range

8 – 40,000 nm

Applications

  • Aerosol research
  • Environmental and climatic studies
  • Inhalation experiments
  • Filter test
  • Interior and workplace measurements
  • Distribution studies (e.g. fires, volcanoes)

This website uses cookies for your convenience and to enabled secure user log ins. further informationen

U-RANGE 2000

Sinnvolle Kombination der Fidas® und U-SMPS Systeme für Partikelmessungen im Größenbereich 8 nm bis 40 µm

Downloads

Kurzbeschreibung
Kurzbeschreibung des Produkts auf zwei Seiten als PDF
Produktbeschreibung
ausführliche Produktbeschreibung als PDF
U-RANGE 2000.JPG

U-RANGE 2000

Sinnvolle Kombination der Fidas® und U-SMPS Systeme für Partikelmessungen im Größenbereich 8 nm bis 40 µm

Beschreibung

Das Palas® U-RANGE kombiniert zwei Systeme für die kontinuierliche Messung luftgetragener Partikel im Größenbereich von 8 nm bis 40 µm.

Das U-SMPS ist ein Standardsystem für genaueste Messungen von Partikelgrößenverteilungen von Nanopartikeln. Im Größenklassierer (DEMC) werden die Aerosolpartikel entsprechend ihrer elektrischen Mobilität selektiert und nachfolgend von einem Kondensationspartikelzähler (UF-CPC) gezählt. Den Algorithmus für die Dateninversion der gemessenen Daten zu einer Partikelgrößenverteilung für das U-SMPS hat Palas® von Prof. Wiedensohler vom Ift (Leipzig) übernommen.

Das Fidas® 200 ist ein Feinstaubmesssystem zum Zweck einer regulativen Umweltmessung. Es verwendet die anerkannte Messtechnik der optischen Lichtstreuung am Einzelpartikel und ist mit einer LED-Lichtquelle mit hoher Lichtstabilität und langer Lebensdauer ausgestattet.

Zusätzlich zur Messung der Partikelgrößenverteilung im Größenbereich von 300 nm bis 40 µm ermittelt es kontinuierlich und gleichzeitig die PM-Fraktionen PM1, PM2,5, PM4, PM10 und TSP (PMtot).

Das Fidas® 200 verfügt des Weiteren über einen Filterhalter zum Einlegen eines Absolutfilters (ø 47 oder 50 mm). So kann z. B. eine nachträgliche chemische Untersuchung der Zusammensetzung des Aerosols erfolgen.

Das U-RANGE wird über eine grafische Benutzeroberfläche mit Touchscreen bedient. Für die Nanopartikelmessung wird die Spannung im DEMC Größenklassierer kontinuierlich verändert, was zu einer höheren Zählstatistik pro Größenkanal führt. Außerdem ermöglicht dies eine Größenauflösung von bis zu 64 Größenklassen pro Dekade. Am Gerät selbst ist über den integrierten Datenlogger eine lineare und logarithmische Darstellung der Messwerte möglich.

Die beiliegende Auswertesoftware ermöglicht vielfältige Datenauswertungen (umfangreiche Statistiken und Durchschnittsberechnungen) und bietet Exportmöglichkeiten.

Das U-RANGE wird üblicherweise als Stand-alone-Gerät betrieben, kann aber durch verschiedene Schnittstellen (USB, LAN, WLAN, RS-232/485) auch an einen Computer oder ein Netzwerk angeschlossen werden.

In der Anwendung sind eine genaue Größenbestimmung und zuverlässige Leistung des U-RANGE extrem wichtig. Alle Komponenten müssen einen strengen Qualitätssicherungstest durchlaufen und werden betriebsintern zusammengesetzt.

Das U-RANGE Messergebnis ist eine Kombination der Resultate des U-SMPS und des Fidas® und kann vollständig auf dem Touchscreen dargestellt und analysiert werden. Bis zu 8 Messungen können hier miteinander verglichen werden (Abbildung 1).

Messdaten U-RANGE.jpg

Abbildung 1: Grafische Darstellung der Messdaten auf dem Touchscreen des U-RANGE. Blau: Innenraumluftkonzentration in einem Produktionsgebäude vor Arbeitsaufnahme, rot: Messung am gleichen Standort nach Arbeitsaufnahme

Funktionsprinzip U-SMPS (Abbildung 2): Bevor das Aerosol in den Größenklassierer (DEMC-Säule) eintritt, wird es konditioniert (z. B. Trocknung, Neutralisierung). Danach gelangt es durch den Einlass in die DEMC-Säule. Der Aerosolstrom entlang der Außenelektrode wird dann vorsichtig mit einem Strom Schleierluft kombiniert. Die Schleierluft ist ein trockenes, partikelfreies Trägergas (typischerweise Luft), das kontinuierlich in einem geschlossenen Kreislauf und mit höherem Volumen als das Aerosol zirkuliert. Das Volumenstromverhältnis zwischen partikelfreier und partikelenthaltender Luft definiert das Auflösungsvermögen des Größenklassierers. Funktionsprinzip des U-SMPS.JPG

Abbildung 2: Funktionsprinzip des U-SMPS

Durch das Anlegen einer Spannung entsteht zwischen Innen- und Außenelektrode ein radialsymmetrisches elektrisches Feld. Die Innenelektrode ist positiv geladen und hat am Ende einen kleinen Spalt. Durch Ausgleichen der elektrischen Kraft auf jedem Partikel mit aerodynamischem Luftwiderstand im elektrischen Feld werden negativ geladene Partikel zur positiven Elektrode hin abgelenkt.

Beim Betrieb werden die Spannung und somit das elektrische Feld kontinuierlich geändert. Bei passender elektrischer Mobilität gelangen Partikel durch den Spalt und werden nachfolgend von einem Kondensationspartikelzähler (UF-CPC) gezählt.

Funktionsprinzip Fidas® Feinstaubmesssystem (Abbildung 3):

Funktionsprinzip Fidas Feinstaubmesssystem.jpg

Abbildung 3: Funktionsprinzip des Fidas®

Benutzeroberfläche und Software: Basierend auf ständigem Kundenfeedback sind Benutzeroberfläche und Software für die intuitive Bedienung, Echtzeitsteuerung und Darstellung von Messdaten und Parametern konzipiert. Ein Datenlogger ist integriert und Netzwerkfunktionen werden unterstützt.

Die mitgelieferte Auswertesoftware PDAnalyze bietet hochentwickelte Analyse- und Exportmöglichkeiten. Die gemessenen Daten können mit vielen verfügbaren Optionen angezeigt und ausgewertet werden. So ist es z. B. möglich, die Daten von U-SMPS und Fidas® getrennt (Abbildung 4) oder gemeinsam darzustellen und auszuwerten.

Auswertesoftware PDAnalyze.jpg

Abbildung 4: Auswertesoftware PDAnalyze. Messung einer Innenraumluftkonzentration und Darstellung der Anzahlkonzentration. Blau: Daten des U-SMPS, rot: Daten des Fidas®

Vorteile

  • Partikelgrößenverteilungen von 8 nm bis 40 µm
  • Zusätzlich Erfassung von PM-Fraktionen (z. B. PM2,5, PM10)
  • Kontinuierliches und schnell scannendes Messprinzip
  • Hohe Auflösung in bis zu 64 Größenklassen / Dekade
  • Grafische Darstellung der Messdaten
  • Intuitive Bedienung durch 7‘‘ Touchscreen und GUI
  • Integrierter Datalogger
  • Unterstützt mehrere Schnittstellen und Fernzugriff
  • Wartungsarm
  • Zuverlässige Funktion
  • Reduziert Ihre Betriebskosten

Technische Daten

Schnittstellen USB, Ethernet, WLAN, RS-232/485
Größenkanäle bis zu 120 (32/Dekade)
Zeitliche Auflösung 3 Min.
Volumenstrom 4,8 l/min
Benutzeroberfläche Touchscreen, 800 • 480 Pixel, 7" (17,78 cm)
Elektrischer Anschluss 115/230 V, 50/60 Hz
Abmessungen 19“ oder 18,5 • 45 • 32 cm (H • B • T, Fidas®), 33 • 38 • 24 cm (H • B • T, UF-CPC), 15 • 57 cm (ø base • H, U-SMPS Säule), 33 • 38 • 24 cm (H • B • T, U-SMPS Kontrolleinheit)
Gewicht ca. 9,3 kg (Fidas®, U-SMPS Säule), ca. 12,9 kg (U-SMPS Steuereinheit), ca. 10 kg (U-SMPS UF-CPC)
Datenspeicher 4 GB
Software PDAnalyze
Schleierluftvolumenstrom 2,5 – 10 l/min
Arbeitsflüssigkeit Butanol, Isopropanol, Wasser oder andere (UF-CPC)
Partikelgrößenbereich 8 – 40.000 nm

Anwendungen

  • Aerosolforschung
  • Umwelt- und Klimauntersuchungen
  • Inhalationsstudien
  • Filtertest
  • Innenraum- und Arbeitsplatzmessungen
  • Ausbreitungsstudien (z. B. Feuer, Vulkan)

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen und sichere Benutzeranmeldungen zu ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen